Over one hundred years
of musical excellence

Trials & Triumphs

Three dates across a two-year period tell the story of this album:

Sunday 17 April 2016, Wednesday 6 September 2017 and Saturday 6 October 2018.

The fire in 2016 at the band’s rehearsal premises has been well documented, together with the loss of the library and so many historical artefacts and items of memorabilia. In this same year Foden’s was successful with an application to Arts Council England through ‘Grants for the Arts’ for a “Three Year Strategic Music and Audience Development Plan 2016-2019”.

Included in the funding application was a commission from Derek Bourgeois to celebrate the famous double hat-trick of wins achieved by Foden’s at the National Championship of Great Britain 1932, 33 & 34 and again in 1936, 37 & 38. This piece, a celebration of everything to do with brass band contests, proved to be the last major work for brass band that Bourgeois wrote before he passed away in September 2017. The following months saw many logistical problems overcome, new rehearsal premises secured, all whilst fulfilling the band’s busy engagement diary. Having come through all the “Trials”, Saturday 6 October 2018 saw the band’s ultimate “Triumph”, being crowned National Champion Band of Great Britain.

This album then is a musical representation of two years in the life of the band.



Track Listing

  1. Phoenix Rising
  2. The Sorcerer's Apprentice
  3. Song for Eilir
  4. Handel in the Band
  5. The Crowning
  6.  Eternal Source of Light Divine
  7. The King of Swing
  8. Seaside Rendezvous
  9. Send in the Clowns
  10. Thy Tribute Bring
  11. Trials and Triumphs